Jump to content

So how does the rating system work in this game?

Rating system silent assassin shadow professional specialist veteran

  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 DorianVoid



  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts

Posted 22 November 2012 - 07:56 AM

Does anybody know how the rating system works? It used to be that "Silent assassin" was the highest rating you could achieve and something to strive for. Now it seems impossible to get on certain missions! Plus, it used to be very clear on what you had to do to get it (Only kill your target, leave no evidence, do not be seen, finish with your suit, etc).
Now it's just confusing. People are saying they are completeing missions in a way they'd normally expect to get a "silent assassin" rating and receiving something else!
So what is the order of the new rating system (1st highest, 2nd highest, etc) and what are the requirements for each rank?
  • 0

#2 Whateverworks


    one post wonder

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 22 November 2012 - 08:20 AM

SA is still the rating with most prestige. I've been awarded SA serveral times in HMA and had to ask myself the exact same question that you're asking. Quite frankly I do not know what the requirements are. But I have compared two missions, both in which I was awarded SA, and here is what I did in both missions:

Nobody saw me.

Accident or signature kill.

Only targets dead.

Target bodies hidden.

No disguise.

But in the saints mission (in cornfield) I had a disguise on and still got SA so I am a bit confused but I am pretty sure you need to satisfy all of the above, maybe with the exception of disguises.

Regarding the order of the ranks I think it goes like this:

Silent Assassin

  • 0

#3 Sledgehammer


    Allan, please add details

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1353 posts

Posted 22 November 2012 - 08:32 AM

What I've gathered so far.

You can only achieve Silent Assassin in checkpoints where you have to kill someone. This excludes about 3/4 of the game's checkpoints.
The following conditions are for the difficulty normal. I haven't experimented sufficiently with the other difficulties.
  • No unnecessary kills.
  • You must not get spotted.
  • Bodies of targets CAN be found.
  • Bodies of non-targets may not be found.
  • Bodies do not need to be hidden.
  • Unrelated to choice of disguise and/or weapon.

  • 0

#4 Sketch



  • Moderators
  • 19479 posts

Posted 22 November 2012 - 08:33 AM

Moving to hints & tips.

#5 DorianVoid



  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts

Posted 22 November 2012 - 08:34 AM

Cool, thanks for that. But how did you find out the order? I haven't seen it anywhere.
  • 0

#6 Spencer47



  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts

Posted 25 November 2012 - 10:50 AM

I think the order of that was found from playing. When you get different amounts of points you can get different ratings I think. I don't know. New system is a little confusing.
  • 0

#7 Mr.Pink.


    I don't tip...

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1740 posts

Posted 02 April 2013 - 06:57 AM

Add to that, pacifications.

  • 0


#8 Mallkorr



  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 156 posts

Posted 02 April 2013 - 02:36 PM

No unnecessary kills.

That's not true. You can actually garrote every single guard in a level and you'll still get SA if you hide the bodies (the amount of points you get for hiding a body is the same as the amount of points you lose for garroting a guard). You can even leave some bodies in plain sight, but don't know how many.


It doesn't appear to me as there are any special requirements for getting that rank, other than a high enough score (compared to the max score you can get in the level).

Edited by Mallkorr, 02 April 2013 - 02:39 PM.

  • 0