🦇 Coping with COVID-19

With the current pandemic effecting so many people worldwide, I thought it might be a good idea to perhaps talk about how our lives our being affected. Be it your livlihood, or if you have had to go into self isolation, or perhaps your family is being effected, just because we are all meant to be physically apart, doesn’t mean we can’t try and be together online.

I should note that while this thread is about COVID-19, it is meant to be focused on people coping with it in their day to day lives. Ideally any news, be it casuality rates or government announcements should stay confined to the General News Thread.

10 Likes

I work as a pizza delivery driver in the UK. It feels very uncertain right now, at least to me. Boris Johnson’s virus statements come across as wishywashy, and so far, it feels like quarantine like Italy is inevitable, it’s just a matter of when. It feels like the calm before the storm.

Came back from my week’s paid holiday today, so was interesting to see how work is. Nothing has changed as of yet, really. Kindof amused we have one co-worker who still keeps skiving off work, getting closer to being fired at this point, seems like a bizarre time to pull this kind of nonsense.

The big thing is that we now doing “contactless” deliveries, designed for people who are in self-isolation. Basically, we call them when we arrive, we use an empty pizza box to put on the porch, we put the order on the empty box, stand 2 meters back, and then witness them take the order. Problem is, they screwed up the sticker system, and now it tells us a ton of deliveries are self isolation, rather than a few, meaning I had to make awkward phone calls going “yeah, sorry but are you in self isolation? No? OK, I’m just parked outside.”