I really enjoyed the story of Hitman 2, but missed the amazing cutscenes from Legacy

One of my favourite parts of Hitman Legacy was the surprisingly well-crafted cutscenes.

As a filmmaker I truly appreciated the skill and finesse with which these were put together: beautifully animated and voice acted with cinematography that rivals some of the best you’d see coming out of Hollywood. (in particular The Shadow Client and Partners, Then?; the single take shot in the airport is just so damn classy, and the performances, especially how Diana’s voice acting and animation compliment each other on the train, are astounding!)

So, I was pretty bummed to see that Hitman 2 didn’t continue this tradition. The cutscenes that do exist are clearly the blueprints for what would’ve been ones as fully fleshed out as the ones we saw in Legacy, but they left me disappointed and wanting.

Now, I understand that this was due to IO-I going independent again, and I also understand that they almost went under, so subpar cutscenes is a small price to pay for an undeniably great Hitman 2, but does anybody reckon we’ll see a return of these amazing cutscenes for whatever comes next?

I - for one - truly hope so!

9 Likes

I loved cutscenes from the first season as much too and I hope that someday IOI will remake the existing screenshots with fully motion picture cutscenes in H2.
To be honest those screenshots instead of proper cutscenes ruined the whole perception of H2 story for me. I was expecting the normal cutscenes to continue in H2 and that ‘surprise’ was the biggest dissapointment of HITMAN 2 for me

6 Likes

IKR!?

Especially since those from Legacy were absolutely astounding. The quality of writing and voice acting was just so solid, even the Constant and Lucas Grey were just fantastic with their deliveries…