Stuttering in PC Games

Hi all,

I have something of a dilemma with PC Gaming. I am new to PC gaming, as you can likely tell, and have been having issues with stuttering (micro-stuttering) in all of my modern games, my older titles don’t suffer from this issue.

Whenever I refer to stuttering, I am talking about micro-stuttering for the most part. The type of stuttering that doesn’t show up easily on your FPS counter.

HITMAN 2 - Stuttering occurs 50% of the time.
Dishonored 2 - Stuttering occurs 40% of the time.
Deus Ex Mankind Divided - Stuttering occurs 30% of the time.

You probably get the picture by now. My frames aren’t being paced properly or there is something causing my v sync to dysfunction.

My specs are very good and my computer is very new.

Some people (like NVIDIA, PC Gamer and AMD) are saying that I have to get a G sync monitor with a variable refresh rate to fix this issue, but I am not convinced since they could be trying to encourage me to throw money at my problem without actually addressing the problem and its symptoms too. Also, there is a conflict of interest since AMD, NVIDIA and PC Gamer can make a lot of money from selling these expensive, variable refresh rate monitors.

Further, I seriously doubt that the majority of PC players have these grossly expensive variable refresh rate monitors with g sync and freesync. I doubt g sync will even solve this issue as it is likely there is an issue with my software or hardware since the stuttering is so unusual and can make playing on a PC a bit difficult at times. So, it just doesn’t make sense that everyone who plays on PC can deal with that, especially since most of us come from a console background and want to play games at a high and stable framerate.

I have tried turning off v sync, but then the issue gets ten times worse.

I have tried Adaptive sync too, but that doesn’t help significantly.

I have tried playing at 30fps (half adaptive refresh rate) and that has failed too.