Yo IOI, regarding Glacier 1 Engine

@IOI @ioi_christianco @ioi_lukasz @IOI_Sidsel @ioi_kristofer @Travis_IOI

Now i am well aware of the fact that many IOI employees who worked on the Glacier 1 era of Hitman games (C47 to BM) are no longer working there, but i’m assuming you guys still have the source code and dev tools of Glacier 1 archived at your studios.

Given how you’ll likely never have any use for Glacier Engine or its tools again, would it be possible for you to make a public release of some build of Glacier 1 (preferably the 2006-2010 build used for BM and Kane & Lynch)?

Now i’m not an expert on how game companies work in practice but i don’t see how Glacier 1 would profit your company anymore as you presumably will never use it again. The last time you utilized Glacier 1 seems to be in 2010 with K&L2. That’s a decade of software and code gone unused.

My interest and usage of the engine and the tools would be purely 100% personal without any sort of financial gain.

Or at the very least could you possibly release some of the developer tools? I don’t remember the exact build number of Glacier used for BM but that version and its associated tools would be the most preferred choice.

Thank you.

11 Likes

It would be really interesting, however despite being 10 years old, it still might contain elements that are highly valuable for the present and future development and IO might not want that to be public.
Evaluating this concern would also require to check the whole source so be aware that is not only about uploading dusty files.

That is possible to set in the license of the published source code, however regarding my first paragraph one could still take the algorithms of the code and use it for their own engine without having to care for the license. That is because you can only hold copyright of algorithm implementions, not of the idea how these work. So that might not fully clear out the possible concerns.