Hitman 3 versus Hitman 2 missions

I’m new to the Hitman series,so please bare with me.A week ago,I played Hitman for the very first time(beginning with Hitman 2.)
Loved Hitman 2 and completed all of the Hitman 2 Bundled main story missions in just 3 days.Never bothered with the challenge missions(as it’s merely just playing the main missions over & over again,which really doesn’t appeal to me.)
I got through those missions just fine on the Professional difficulty setting(which didn’t require any special items that one obtains from doing the challenges.)
However…with Hitman 3,it seems that challenge missions are mandatory,in order to complete the main story missions.
I got as far as “End Of An Era” and hit a wall.Up until this particular mission, whenever I came across a doorway that required a lockpick,I always found an alternative point of access into a building,so I never had any need for a lockpick.Whereas in this mission,I could only find one way into the basement and this doorway required a lockpick.I’ve spent days on replaying the Dartmoor challenges and completed 3 of them and yet,I still have no frakking picklock!??
I can’t stomach another replay of Dartmoor and I am just a single hair away from giving up on this game entirely and deleting it from my PS4.
Any suggesstions,tips,tricks or workarounds would be greatly appreciated(I’ve looked through many YouTube walkthroughs,but to no avail.)

You probably want to take a look at location masteries/challenges if you want to unlock a particular item. I believe you’ve already unlocked one of the lockpick items in your inventory. Completing the mission once should grant you enough experience points to unlock it.

But in case if you don’t, there’s some other lockpick items you may unlock via Legacy Packs. Here they are:

ICA Facility – The Final Test

• Lockpick (Tool) – Complete Mission Story Challenges in ICA Facility

Miami – The Finish Line

• Lockpick MK II (Tool) – Unlocked at Level 2