What does "Balance" actually mean?

There’s been several long discussions about various unlocks (Electrocution phone, Molotov, to give two examples) that have often brought up the concept of “balance” as it pertains to Hitman and other games. I have not seen, though, a good definition of what it actually means for a game to be balanced. I am hoping this thread can explore that subject without needing to tie to any specific unlocks or items.

Is a game balanced if it’s hard?
Is a game balanced if it’s accessible (and what does that mean, exactly)?
Is a game unbalanced if it’s easy? What is only some players find it easy?

Discuss!

5 Likes

i’m not a game designer, but (for what it’s worth) the best definition i’ve heard of game balance is the art of creating a perception of fairness and ensuring options stay within a bandwidth conducive to the experience being delivered.

6 Likes

This game maybe the best balanced game in the history of video games.

You have 3 levels, casual, pro, expert

It offers many options, from different ways to achieve victory.

I don’t know about anyone else, I paid for everything deluxe, Goty, requiem, everything at the premium price, even the case when hitman 2 came out.

In all my 40 years, the game keeps adding more content and I wouldn’t change a thing, these past 6 years.

5 Likes

I think this chart does a pretty good job. In my opinion, Hitman is right in that green “sweet spot”, but some players may fall on either side of the line.

9 Likes

Also, looking at that chart, I am finally understanding with some other players are talking about with items like the Molotov. I’m not saying I agree with them, just that I am finally understanding what they are saying.