Improving "On top of the World"

So, for anyone not familiar with the concept, I’ve been doing these threads since HITMAN2016.
The idea is basic: to come up with suggestions that would improve a certain level in terms of missions stories, dialog, and gameplay dynamics.
What’s not included here is large changes to gameplay, like adding blood trails, or massive restructuring of the levels.

Oh, and one more thing… these are not here to hate on the levels/level design. For instance, I love this level… but there’s always room for improvement, and potentially to rethink some design principles.

I’ve not done one of these in a while, for a number of reasons, but here goes…

”Bird of Prey” - Believability

In the Mission Story ”Bird of Prey” we are introduced to the character of Zana ”The Vulture” Kazem.

Kazem is one of a handful of disguises in H3 I really wish they had put a little more work into making believable (another one being Pritchard in Chongqing).

The problem here is of course that the first time you see Kazem, he is talking the hostess, Miss To, who you will then meet while disguised as Kazem.

Not only has she just recently seen the real Kazem, there’s not even some kind of flimsy way in which you look similar to him (like with Helmut Kruger).

When you first see Zana Kazem two things become abundantly clear. You look nothing like him, and Miss To has just seen him face to face.

My suggestion is simply to introduce Kazem in another manner. Instead of Kazem standing by the stairs refusing to be frisked, we only see Miss To. She’s on the phone, talking about waiting for Kazem. Kazem in turn is in the garden looking for something he’s lost. Now, when you arrive and present yourself as Kazem, it doesn’t feel quite as silly.

”Bird of Prey” - Flexility

For people who know of my previous Wishlist threads it might not come as a surprise to learn that I wish there was a way for Kazem to head to the meeting with Carl Ingram.